Misery Loves Company and Dogs Do Too.

When you realize four legs are better than two for company.

Jazz & Melody
 

The best listeners in the world, Jazz & Melody

It is an unspoken rule among dog lovers that if your dog falls asleep in your lap you dare not move. Instead, no matter our hectic schedule we find ourselves sitting a bit longer than anticipated,  wondering what they are dreaming about or if they are comfortable. It hits us that the look on their tiny furry little faces is one of complete relaxation and contentment. Those moments become validation to the reasons we became dog lovers to begin with.

One Reason Is Just As Good As Two

For some of us two-legged, hairless humans; finding sleep the way our four-legged furry companions do can be an exhausting challenge. Whether the day has presented endless tasks, an unexpected guest arrival, or something as serious as a death in the family. No matter how hard we try, sleep doesn’t come easily. Many of us take this time, to download a game on our phone or binge watch the latest Hulu or Netflix series until the sun rises.

The Cozy of Companions

The CDC reports 1 in 3 adults don’t get enough sleep, this can lead to mood swings, and fuel depression and a host of other health issues.  I must admit I am very guilty of the Netflix binge until about a year ago. I was sitting there, phone plastered in lap remote in my hand worrying about the woes of a rapidly approaching morning. My body was spent, but my mind had decided it was running the biggest marathon of its career and tonight it was going for gold. That’s when I felt it, a soft and subtle brush on my hand. I looked down and there was my beautiful merle girl Jazz, this chihuahua had more heart and soul then a rottweiler but weighed no more than four pounds. There she slept in a state of peacefulness right by my side, the t.v softly flickered across her face and her small paws rested on my thigh without a care in the world. The ability for her to depend solely on me with no fear or worry. It was three in the morning and she hadn’t left me once. I gently massaged her small head, leaned back, closed both eyes and got the best sleep I had in months.

One thought on “Misery Loves Company and Dogs Do Too.

Leave a Reply

