Show Me Some Love

Happy Chihuahua

         Unconditional Love Exists

No matter how long we are away, what we smell like or who we bring home with us, our little guys are always happy to see us. When it comes to humans showing love we have developed an entire day known as Valentine’s day. This is when we truly allow the cash and love to flow freely. Yet our dog and dogettes don’t wear tiny watches around their wrists and count down the days to show you love they just do.

The Rant

Day before yesterday I was in a horrible mood. (This is where my rant will begin) It was raining, I stayed late at work and to top it all off an impaired driver hammered the front of my hood into my windshield. As I stood in the rain waiting for the tow truck to arrive, I thought of the many ways I could have avoided this accident, although I knew it wasn’t my fault my emotions decided differently.

So, there I was, crying in the rain to my totaled car.

Can You Handle the Love?

I finally arrived home, sore but alive. I put my key in the door like I had done millions of times before. While opening the door I listened to the tiny paws shifting across the linoleum floor. They were over joyed to see me. I sat down in the middle of the floor and accepted all the tail wags, jumps and kisses I could get. I wish I could write that they showed me a little more love that day, that in some way they knew my day had been a disaster. The truth is that they are not psychics and they greet me like this every day. They show me the maximum amount of love their little chihuahua hearts are capable of. The change was in me, that day I became more open to receiving all of it.

Leave a Reply

