We Got the Beat!

dog music

If you follow this blog faithfully, you have become very familiar with two things specifically. One is that I don’t always post every Wednesday (but when I do its good stuff) the other is that I believe dogs (Chihuahuas especially) have their own personalities, and speak their own language.

FIRST THINGS FIRST…

Call me crazy but to me it makes no sense that such a variety of dogs could all have the same exact personality or needs. It kills me when my non-dog lover friends make generalized comments such as

“Can’t you just feed the dog scraps…it’s a dog”

“Why did you get “it” a heating pad? It’s a dog”

“Why did you buy clothes?” …it’s a dog”

Alright, I get it, I get it! You have confirmed it’s a dog. It has four legs, with fur and pants when hot.  As a dog-lover I would like to respond for all the other dog lovers. They are OUR dogs! OUR dogs and guess what non-dog lovers.

THEY ARE SO MUCH MORE THAN DOGS TO US!

MOVING RIGHT ALONG…

Okay now that the rant is over, and I cleared up what has been wanting to be said since the first paw/hand shake. Shall we move along.

I am a massively obsessive music lover, give me a stream of smooth Jazz and I am completely satisfied. The type of music I listen to for a day depends heavily on my emotions. Monday can bring on a lengthy marathon of Aerosmith, where a Wednesday can be some slow sultry ballads from Sade.

Dancing Chi.gif

The day I noticed the Chihuahuas enjoyed the same type of music I did was a comfortably warm and sunny Friday. I began the day with popular hits from Prince. While Raspberry Beret thundered out of the speakers and I imagined I was Lisa & Wendy rocking out with the late Prince. I sashed around the house singing at the top of my lungs and noticed little Chi-Chi eyes following me.

MUSIC IS LIFE…

As I put the bottle of body spray I was singing into on the coffee table, I observed the slow wag of tails, and expression of slight amusement.  I quickly turned down the music and asked the idiotic question “you guys like Prince huh?” Of course, they do! Doesn’t everyone? I decided to try some Tupac, nothing heavy just a little Keep Your Head Up kind of Tupac. The tails continued to wag.

The music binge began, I played everything from Metallica to NWA and guess what? Some songs received several wags others a howl, and the worst no response at all. Most of the songs they didn’t like neither did I. I ended the musical binge sitting on the floor by the stereo while Imagine by John Lennon flowed through the air. I think that it’s their favorite, can you blame them?

Thank you for taking the time to read Chi-Chi talks, swapping stories is welcome here in the comment section below.

Leave a Reply

